A Word in Your Ear

My landlord wants me to pay my rent by Direct Debit. I am very unwilling to do this preferring to call in at the office with a monthly cheque (Banker’s Draft).  The reason is at my previous address I did pay by Direct Debit and on one occasion the bank made a mistake and failed to pass on the rent.  Meanwhile my husband and I were blithely unaware that we had failed to pay our rent, and the situation continued on unknown to us for several weeks until our patient and puzzled landlord sent a polite enquiry as to why he had not received his rent.

The bank sorted it out and had the grace to acknowledge their mistake and apologise to the landlord directly – BUT – we never received an explanation about how the mistake had been made, and after that we became worried.  What if the bank…

View original post 919 more words

