The Secular Jurist

By Robert A. Vella

During the 1992 presidential election campaign, I was so myopic about wanting to boot the Republicans out of the White House – after 12 long years under Reagan/Bush – that I ignored warnings from other candidates on free trade and placed all my faith in the eventual winner Bill Clinton.  I freely admit now that the narrowness of my political choice was wrong, and that because of it I failed my country as an informed, responsible voter.  My failure wasn’t in choosing the wrong candidate, but in allowing my emotions to override my intellectual concerns about that candidate.  Had I – and many other Americans who probably felt the same way – been more discriminating and more politically involved earlier on, the great demise of the middle class might never have happened.

One of the salient issues of that presidential campaign was the North American Free…

View original post 1,059 more words

