A Word in Your Ear

I discovered this when I moved to London. Highest prices for mediocre service – if you could get a service at all. What triggered the realisation was a funeral. A work colleague had died and we had been given very short notice of her funeral. I realised I could get to the funeral in time if I booked a taxi straight from work. So in the morning of her funeral I called in at a taxi office and booked the taxi. I finished work, waited, and the taxi did not come. I missed the funeral.

Afterwards as I pondered what had gone wrong – this kind of event hadn’t happened to me before, I realised there was a reason why prices in London are so high, in return for rubbish/mediocre/no service. It is the effect of the mass market. Businesses don’t have to provide a good service. They don’t have…

View original post 695 more words

